So Bill Maher thinks we need a president with a gat in his pants who can straighten some "motherfuckers " out?
http//www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeDPWaLWKCc
At least he stopped just short of telling Obama to act like the nigger we elected. Scratch a liberal you'll find a racist every time.
On a related but different note, I find myself getting annoyed with the facebook page "Use BP executives to fill the oil spill" or some similar nonsense.
I picked these two incidents to write about today, because I think they both neatly illustrate a pet peeve of mind. Narrow minds and myopic viewpoints.
The obvious racism aside, does Bill Maher honestly believe that a tough talking president is going to resolve this situation? Really? I mean, in my opinion, Maher is nothing more than a smarmy wiseass with bad hair and no sense of humor. But since HBO insists on giving him a platform to bray forth from, perhaps Maher could apply a little critical thinking and actually note the context of the issue.
For starters, Obama is part of the problem, not the solution. I don't say this simply to be critical of the president, certainly his predecessor didn't help the situation. But the bottom line is, there isn't a politician in Washington that's not benefiting from oil money. And bloviating aside, Obama, and the rest of the Washington herd of followers (by that I mean our elected leaders) will continue to work the system, watch the polls, and do whatever they think they need to do to keep their positions and enhance their personal power.
So back to the facebook page, maybe we ought to add a layer of politicians to the hole too?
But wait, what about the environmentalist who just want to save the earth? If we had listened to them, none of this would have happened.
Problem is, two many pandering political whore did listen to them. Hence the reason we have such convoluted regulations on drilling, and the real reason BP was drilling that deep anyway. I don't claim to be an expert on oil, but I do live in an oil producing state and I do know a couple of things that ought to be pretty obvious.
First and foremost, if this accident had happened on land, it would have resulted in a puddle, 15 minutes of local news coverage and virtually no long term damage to the environment. Way to go Green Idiots, all that drilling you blocked on land and in shallow water, has now come back to bite Mother Nature square in the ass.
So hows this for a solution: First, we'll go ahead and stuff those BP execs down the well, but let's make sure we also get the sub-contractor who actually screwed up, and grab any supervisors and foremen that had safety concerns but kept working on a dangerous project. Second, lets' take a look BP's donor lists and PAC's so we can figure out which politicians need to be tamped in their as well. Finally lets top it off with the envirowackos. Al Gore fits two of my categories, so maybe he can be the transition between politicians and environuts. (I put them in last because I want to see if the fish swim to their rescue.)
Once that's done, I'm pretty sure the constant babbling will die down enough to have an honest discussion about energy policy. When this county is finally ready to get serious, lets turn off the racist "comedians"*, tune out the teleprompted politicians, and ignore the hyperventilating half wits. I wait with baited breath...
*quotes indicate my disdain for calling the unfunny prick a comedian
Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Procrastination is like masturbation
Why is so easy to set a goal, so hard to follow through? Rhetorical question. Don't help. I know what the problem is.
Procrastination.
When I set out to write a blog, I had the simple intention of writing something every day. Or at least nearly every day. Or at least weekly. (Seeing a pattern?)
The problem is; life gets in the way. There's work, family, more work, kids ballgames, practice, etc. etc. Before you know it, time passes. Sometimes a lot more time than you think.
I've been stewing lately about the passage of time. Not due to my failure to post blog updates, on balance, it's an annoyance to realize you've put off doing something you had planned to do, not a catastrophe. Time's been on my mind because several milestones have been reached in my family, milestones that portend a lot more passage of time than I can easily wrap my head around.
My only daughter graduated the eight grade. She's off to high school next year, and driving to boot. My wedding anniversary is coming up. Five years, already. And did I mention only daughters boyfriend the sophomore?
I'm not bothered by the time. In fact the opposite is true, I'm extremely proud of my daughter. Watching her and her best friend pose for pictures, I remembered something I thought of years ago, standing over her crib when I got to meet her for the first time. I remember the distinct thought, " I can't wait to see the woman your going to turn into." I guess I thought I'd have a little more time than the blink of an eye to enjoy the transition.
And five years doesn't seem like a long time to be married. It's not, for most folks. But it took me 15 years to get to a place where I could sustain a good relationship, and the most incredible luck in the world to find a woman I can't wait to spend the rest of my life with. I'm not taking anything for granted. Sometimes I wish I could slow down time, just to savor everything a bit more. Instead, I'm learning to savor fast.
The title of this post is part of a joke: procrastination is like masturbation, seems like a good idea at the time, but in the end, your just fucking yourself. I can live with putting off some blog posts, but I hope I never miss an opportunity to revel in the family I've got. And if it moves fast, I can live with it. Happy anniversary baby, I can't wait for 50 more.
Procrastination.
When I set out to write a blog, I had the simple intention of writing something every day. Or at least nearly every day. Or at least weekly. (Seeing a pattern?)
The problem is; life gets in the way. There's work, family, more work, kids ballgames, practice, etc. etc. Before you know it, time passes. Sometimes a lot more time than you think.
I've been stewing lately about the passage of time. Not due to my failure to post blog updates, on balance, it's an annoyance to realize you've put off doing something you had planned to do, not a catastrophe. Time's been on my mind because several milestones have been reached in my family, milestones that portend a lot more passage of time than I can easily wrap my head around.
My only daughter graduated the eight grade. She's off to high school next year, and driving to boot. My wedding anniversary is coming up. Five years, already. And did I mention only daughters boyfriend the sophomore?
I'm not bothered by the time. In fact the opposite is true, I'm extremely proud of my daughter. Watching her and her best friend pose for pictures, I remembered something I thought of years ago, standing over her crib when I got to meet her for the first time. I remember the distinct thought, " I can't wait to see the woman your going to turn into." I guess I thought I'd have a little more time than the blink of an eye to enjoy the transition.
And five years doesn't seem like a long time to be married. It's not, for most folks. But it took me 15 years to get to a place where I could sustain a good relationship, and the most incredible luck in the world to find a woman I can't wait to spend the rest of my life with. I'm not taking anything for granted. Sometimes I wish I could slow down time, just to savor everything a bit more. Instead, I'm learning to savor fast.
The title of this post is part of a joke: procrastination is like masturbation, seems like a good idea at the time, but in the end, your just fucking yourself. I can live with putting off some blog posts, but I hope I never miss an opportunity to revel in the family I've got. And if it moves fast, I can live with it. Happy anniversary baby, I can't wait for 50 more.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)